Crochet Lace Baby Blanket

My latest blanket was one which I’d been itching to start for a while now. It’s a pattern by Baby Dear called Crocheted Lace Baby Blanket, and it’s available on Ravelry and Etsy. It’s not free but it cost less than a cup of coffee so I can’t complain – and I’m sure I’ll make lots of these in the future.
IMG_8130.JPG

For this one I thought I’d try out the Stylecraft Baby yarn in Blue Marl. It’s a twisted pale blue and white and is lovely for a baby boy (or girl – but that’s a rant I’m not going to have here! 😉 )

From just a few rounds in you can see how pretty it’s going to be – the bobbles forming a little diamond shape in the centre of the blanket. The pattern is really well written and easy to follow, with simple stitches being brought together to make a stunning design. The bobbles and shell stitches add lovely detail.

IMG_8149.JPG

As I was using DK yarn as opposed to the 4ply suggested, I stopped a few rounds short as it was already large enough, but ended on the stated shell round. My finished blanket is 27″ square – perfect for a new baby.

IMG_8208.JPG

IMG_8237.JPG

IMG_8238.JPG

3 thoughts on “Crochet Lace Baby Blanket

  1. Beautiful. How many balls of DK yarn did it take? I’m thinking of making one for a Teenager so a little larger.

    Like

    1. Hi Shirl, it didn’t use much of the rainbow colours so I’d suggest getting a ball of each which would be plenty for a bigger blanket. I used two balls of the grey so you’d need more 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

