Sunburst Granny Baby Blanket

One of my recent crochet goals was to try out sunburst granny squares and last month I finally got time (ignored the other WIP’s) to give them a go.
I used the tutorial from Eda’s Crochet Room which was really straight forward and I love how pretty they look.
IMG_7781-0.JPG

It was also an excuse to buy more of the Caron Simply Soft yarn which I used previously for my V-Stitch blanket. Despite being acrylic it is incredibly soft and has a lovely sheen to it.
IMG_7721-0.JPG
For this blanket I used the following shades:
– Off White (2x skeins)
– Robin’s Egg
– Strawberry
– Blackberry
– Lemonade
– Soft Blue

Using the 5 different colours to make different colours combos for the rounds, I made 5 of each design, before completing 3 normal granny rounds in Off White.

With 25 squares completed the blanket was a good baby blanket size (5×5). In hindsight it was a bad idea but I thought I’d try sewing the squares together instead of my usual join-as-you-go approach – this took soooo much longer! (and used extra yarn!) But I got there in the end…then it was time for a simple border – HDC rounds in yellow, green and lilac with slip stitching and picot edging on the final round. And here it is….

IMG_8087.JPG

IMG_8086.JPG

IMG_8074.JPG

One thought on “Sunburst Granny Baby Blanket

Leave a Reply

