Yarn pegs – Playing with Colour

I’ve been meaning to make some of these yarn colour pegs since I saw the idea on the lovely Attic 24 blog last year.

 I’ve always been a fan of Stylecraft Special DK yarn and have amassed quite the stash by working on various projects.  I tend to have favourite colours I use more than others – magenta, turquoise, aspen….I’m definitely a fan of the ‘cooler’ shades of the spectrum! But I want to play around with colour combinations more, which is why these pegs are perfect.

  

They are so easy to do – no glue necessary – just clamp both ends of yarn in the end of the peg that opens.  Its also great for using up little scraps!

Stylecraft have just brought out a shade card which is handy if you don’t want to make your own, but I like being able to move the colours around and sit them next to each other – and wooden pegs are pretty cheap (I found some bargain pegs on amazon).

It turns out I have 46 of the 72 shades in my stash – I honestly thought it would be more! (I also highly suspect I have some more hidden around the house which I have hidden so well from hubby I have forgotten where it is!). I’m resisting the urge to rush out and buy the missing shades…I can add to this collection as and when I use the colours for new projects.

Anyway I’m already having fun playing with colour schemes…here’s a pic of the colours I used for my just-finished Cath Kidston inspired blanket:

   

And here are the colours from another recent blanket:

 

  

 I also got hold of the three newest shades of Stylecraft Special DK – Sage, Storm Blue and Parma Violet, I think they go beautifully with Silver and Wisteria (mental note to make something with this colour scheme!)

 

  

And here’s a peek at the colours for my next project- an order for a friend…can you guess what it will be?

  

There’s been a great discussion on my Instagram this morning about people’s favourite shades – pomegranate, fondant, sherbert and cloud blue all seem very popular! I’d love to hear what your favourite shade is if you want to leave me a comment – I must try and get out of my colour comfort zone 😉

x

8 thoughts on “Yarn pegs – Playing with Colour

  1. I did that too! It’s fun to play with all the colors. I can’t find stylecraft out here, so I use simply soft. Thanks for the pretty post!

    Like

  2. Love the new colour scheme – brights are definitely my favourites, but the grey will level them out perfectly 🙂 I am also a yarn-hider…. I am going to be in so much trouble if he ever checks behind the sofa bed in the spare room… :/

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I just happened to glance in the closet the other day, where my Stylecraft is stashed in organza bags and caught sight of saffron, lemon, spice and sherbet stuffed down in one corner. They looked so good together, I couldn’t resist starting a blanket with them. Shades i come back to again and again are spice, claret, walnut and meadow. I’ve developed an appreciation for khaki, having made a couple of attic25 blankets. It’s a shade I would have avoided like the plague in the past but works surprisingly well. I really like the new colours, especially the green and the blue and love the colour scheme you’ve put together. I might have to use that 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love these from Attic24 as well! Do you remember what brand of clothespin you used for these? I have been looking everywhere for smooth clothespins like yours to write the color names on, but the only ones I can find online have little ridges at the tips where the writing would go (it probably doesn’t help that I live in the US). Thanks! Also, love your blog =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

